#34 – Gal Costa – Mamãe, Coragem (1968)

from Tropicália, ou Panis et Circensis (Philips, 1968)

Original lyrics:

Mamãe, mamãe, não chore
A vida é assim mesmo
Eu fui embora
Mamãe, mamãe, não chore
Eu nunca mais vou voltar por aí
Mamãe, mamãe, não chore
A vida é assim mesmo
Eu quero mesmo é isto aqui

Mamãe, mamãe, não chore
Pegue uns panos pra lavar
Leia um romance
Veja as contas do mercado

Pague as prestações
Ser mãe
É desdobrar fibra por fibra
Os corações dos filhos
Seja feliz
Seja feliz

Mamãe, mamãe, não chore
Eu quero, eu posso, eu quis, eu fiz
Mamãe, seja feliz
Mamãe, mamãe, não chore
Não chore nunca mais, não adianta
Eu tenho um beijo preso na garganta

Eu tenho um jeito de quem não se espanta
(Braço de ouro vale 10 milhões)
Eu tenho corações fora peito
Mamãe, não chore
Não tem jeito
Pegue uns panos pra lavar
Leia um romance
Leia “Alzira morta virgem”
“O grande industrial”

Eu por aqui vou indo muito bem
De vez em quando brinco Carnaval

E vou vivendo assim: felicidade
Na cidade que eu plantei pra mim
E que não tem mais fim
Não tem mais fim
Não tem mais fim

Translated ones:

Mother, mother, don’t cry
That’s how life is
I need to go

Mother, mother, don’t cry
I’ll never come back
Mother, mother, don’t cry
That’s how life is
What I want is really this

Mother, mother, don’t cry
Take some clothes to wash
Read a novel
See the grocery bill

Pay the installments
To be a mother means
Unravelling little by little
Your son’s hearts
Be happy
Be happy

Mother, mother, don’t cry
I want it, I can make it, I wanted it, I did it
Mother, be well
Mother, mother, don’t cry
Don’t you cry ever more, it doesn’t help
I have a kiss stuck in my throat

I’m not easily scared
(A gold arm is worth 10 million bucks)
I have a heart and a chest
Mother, don’t cry
It doesn’t help
Take some clothes to wash
Read a novel
Read “Alzira, the dying virgin”
Or “The great industry man”

Here I’m doing quite fine
Once in a while I party

And that’s how I live: with joy
At the city I’ve created myself
And that doesn’t have an end
It doesn’t have an end
It doesn’t have an end

Second Gal Costa cut from the album. This one was composed by Caetano Veloso and Torquato Neto, whose “Tropicalism for Beginners” we have already read before. I don’t have much to say about it, except that it’s a beautiful track.

Tomorrow I’ll end the album (yes, I know, “Geléia Geral” is still missing) and in the first days of the next week I’ll make a Carnival special. After all, there is nothing so much Brazilian as a good Carnival.

Deixe um comentário

