#18 – Gal Costa – Pontos de Luz

from Índia (Continental, 1973)

Original lyrics:

Me sinto contente
Me sinto muito contente
Me sinto completamente contente
Ouso dizer
Completamente contente

Me arrisco a falar
Me sinto feliz
Me sinto muito feliz
Me sinto completamente feliz
Ouso dizer
Completamente feliz.

In English:

I feel happy
I feel extremely happy
I feel completely happy
I dare to say
Completely happy

I dare to say
I feel happy
I feel extremely happy
I feel completely happy
I dare to say
Completely happy

Making a post in a hurry and fortunately, this one was easy.

This is from a 1973 album by tropicália-era darling Gal Costa. I don’t have much to say about, only that the album cover was censored by the Brazilian dictatorship (for some obvious reasons) and that the song is a composition by Jards Macalé and outsider poet Wally Salomão. Salomão was one of the most famous members of the “Poesia marginal” movement in Brazil in the seventies and one could think of him as a literary counterpart to the tropicalist movement in music.

As the song is about being always happy, tomorrow I’ll post another way of thinking about happiness, departing once again from the Brazil 70 compilation.

As a bonus, check this version recorded by Jards Macalé:

Deixe um comentário

